About Us

2024 Commissioners

Elisabeth Arruda, Chair

Lisa Westgate, Vice Chair of Programs and Planning

Michelle Davidson, Vice Chair of Media and Publicity

Maude Gorman

Jacqueline Jones

Danielle Kemp

Carolyn Riley


Laura Buckley

Karis North

Dawn Sibor

Kristina Whiton-O'Brien

Founding and Mission

The Plymouth County Commission on the Status of Women and Girls (“PCCSW”) was established by House Bill 1110, signed into law on March 15, 2018, as Chapter 45 of the Acts of 2018.  The PCCSW’s mission is to provide a permanent, effective voice for the advancement of women and girls in Plymouth County.

The PCCSW is a nine-member body which represents all the towns and cities in Plymouth County including: Abington, Bridgewater, Brockton, Carver, Duxbury, East Bridgewater, Halifax, Hanover, Hanson, Hingham, Hull, Kingston, Lakeville, Marion, Marshfield, Mattapoisett, Middleborough, Norwell, Pembroke, Plymouth, Plympton, Rochester, Rockland, Scituate, Wareham, West Bridgewater, and Whitman.

The PCCSW is responsible for studying, reviewing and reporting on the status of women and girls in Plymouth County, and are charged with offering recommendations regarding policy that would improve access to opportunities and equality for women and girls in the region. 

Through public hearings, public meetings, and coordination with resources within and residents of Plymouth County, the PCCSW will assess, take actions, and make recommendations to advance the women and girls of Plymouth County toward full equity in all areas of life and to promote rights and opportunities for all women and girls.